About Fort Kent Outdoor Center


The Fort Kent Outdoor Center is a community managed recreational facility promoting outdoor trail based activities year round in the beauty of the St John Valley. Located right next door to downtown Fort Kent and Lonesome Pines Trails Alpine ski area, you are just minutes from getting away from it all. With primary funding from the Libra Foundation, the Outdoor Center was established in 1999 as a training center for aspiring Nordic and Biathlon athletes, and the host of multiple National and International Nordic and Biathlon events. The 3 Km roller ski loop is one of the best in North America to give you a safe workout, and is sure to give you thrills to remember on skis, bike or roller blades. The addition of several miles of Snowshoe and Mountain Bike trails in the past few years has added more recreational options to get our members and visitors out into the beauty of the Maine Outdoors. With a full service XC Ski and Snowshoe shop, anyone can get off the couch, get outside, and get healthy during our long beautiful winters. Funding to run our facility comes from hosting various events, through annual memberships and generous donations, and daily trail fees. An amazing group of Volunteers dedicate countless hours to maintain the beautiful trails and facilities to make sure your first visit will make you want to come back for more fun and peaceful solitude.


The Fort Kent Outdoor Center promotes healthy outdoor lifestyles by providing a first-rate facility, trail system, and recreational activities for members, athletes, and visitors.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the management of the Outdoor Center and the 10th Mountain Lodge. It consists of four officers and five members at large all who are elected by the board. The board meets each month. The members for the 2019-2020 term are;

  • Carl Theriault – President
  • Laura Audibert – Vice President
  • Sylvia Dow-Harvey ¬†– Secretary
  • Pat Theriault – Treasurer
  • Charles Albert
  • David Gleich
  • Norman Martin
  • Matt Michaud
  • Ben Paradis
  • Julie Sanclemente